Tweet Tweet

So I have bit the bullet and started a Twitter account! I have used Facebook for social use since 2008, but never really felt the need to go to Twitter as well. My husband swears by it, but he uses it mainly to talk about sports. Most of the people that he follows/comments with aren’t friends/acquaintances outside of Twitter.

I am not sure what I think of it yet. I am starting to follow classmates and various Education Leaders and resources. I think having the thoughts and resources from those sources will be a great addition to my Personal Learning Network.

One thing I have already encountered is that I added Apple and the Huffington post which now makes my feed all crazy and just filled with them. I may go and unfollow, just because it’s hard to see much else with them. They post every 20 minutes it seems. Is there a way to get a summary of their posts?

When researching about Twitter, I did find some interesting statistics here

We will see how this Twitter experience goes. I am open to it but not yet entirely convinced. It is still feeling like Status Updates, but maybe as my connections and use grows, I will come to enjoy it more.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. J Even
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 02:06:28

    It took me years to “get” Twitter, so give yourself some time. And don’t be afraid to put yourself out there by responding to or retweeting other people’s tweets. You never know who might notice!

    Reply

  2. boundlesscognizance
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 04:00:55

    I am going to give it a try! We will see how it goes. It still feels a little odd to me. I do enjoy facebook though. For me it is that you don’t actually “know” people that you are following/follow you. That feels odd to me. But, we will see how it goes.

    Reply

  3. Jeff Nugent
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 13:48:59

    There really are layers of engagement in twitter….and in agreeing with @J Even…I think that is one reason why it takes a while for folks to “get it” personally. There are lots of entry points. One way to begin is with finding interesting people / organizations to follow…Sounds like your husband likes sports info and has dialed in to twitter for that use.

    Sample the buffet…find what you like…share it. Rinse and repeat….

    Reply

    • boundlesscognizance
      Oct 17, 2012 @ 13:13:37

      I think it is certainly finding what works for you. I am also trying to figure out what works for me in the professional vs personal and going from there. For instance, I do enjoy reading parenting blogs, etc but don’t think that I’d combine that with a more professional presence that a twitter account may make.

      Reply

  4. lsniestrath
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 09:10:08

    Thanks for the link about Twitter-I keep wondering how a tool like this can get beyond the “play toy” image? I know that I saw no personal need for it until I was forced to do it for class. I do value the just in time flow of tweets. FB takes more time to peruse, which is fine for me in terms of friendship use. I love the lack of advertisements on Twitter-a definite plus as far as I am concerned! I have intentionally “unfollowed” individuals and organizations because of Twitterhea- or projectile Twittering-this is where FB might be more useful?

    Reply

  5. Katherine
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 14:00:39

    Like others who have posted here, I definitely unfollow those who post too often on topics that I’m not interested in. As someone who is not on FB, I don’t focus on Twitter as a social tool, but more as an information pull. I like it because in takes 2 seconds to be exposed to a new resource with a brief 140 character summary of what is in that resource. I’ve looked at the social interaction side (BoeBear tried to befried a cat in Michigan (OdinMonsterCat)), but that didn’t go too well – I think he was freaked out when she resplied to one of his posts about snow. However, the social aspect seemed apparent during the Presidential Debate as people would RT interesting info and share commentary about the candidates. Have you tried searching specific tags/topics?

    Reply

    • boundlesscognizance
      Oct 17, 2012 @ 13:17:59

      I haven’t done much searching with specific tags yet. I guess I’m not sure yet what to search. I’m still trying to figure out what I want my Twitter account to look like! It does feel almost stalkerish to me that I can get onto people’s/organizations pages without being “friends”?

      Reply

  6. wallysworld52
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 04:00:13

    You are definitely not alone in your Twitter reservations. Many of us are “just taking it for a ride”! Love to have you come along. Really enjoyed the fun facts on Twitter. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

